Clifton CC Discussion Board

A place to discuss Mountain Biking: Organise rides or lifts, or just chat about rides, equipment or anything else.

Moderators: StephF, Tullio, Moderators

by David Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:23 pm
Hello

Im an as level student at york college and im doing sport, i have to a sport at a competitive level, so have choosen mountain biking.

But i need some new kit:
Bike About £500 to spend, I was thinking http://www.evanscycles.com/products/iro ... e-ec014814

or

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/spe ... e-ec016014

Helmet £(might save my life so no budget)
Giro Xen, E2 or Hex

Warm Clothes
No idea what to have

Water bag backpack thing (Camelpack?)
Whatever is the best for value in black

Anything else apart from lights

by barberj Tue Oct 07, 2008 8:38 pm
I would say try before you buy if possible. If you do go for disk brakes then I would suggest you get ones with hydraulic brakes as the cable ones I have tried do not have a very good feel (i.e tried to throw me over the handlebars). You might want to look at Merlin cycles at the £500 pound price point as they have bikes with decent forks in this price range. You could get a Merlin Malt 1 for just over this £525 with a Rockshox Recon fork, decent Hayes brakes, Deore groupset and Mavic Rims.

As for clothes on a budget its best to look out for Aldi and Lidl cycling clothes. Every few months they have a three day sale of them and most of the stuff is decent for the money. Sign up to their newsletters to get some warning as everything goes rather quickly.

Get the cheapest helmet that fits as they all are tested to the same level. You usually pay more for greater ventilation, styling and saving a few grams.