Clifton CC Discussion Board

The place to discuss racing and training.

Moderator: Moderators

by GrahamMartin Sat Dec 31, 2011 1:01 pm
Hello,

I'm new to club riding and have never raced, though I plan to start this year. I've been on a few of the 10am Saturday rides, and Kev has tended to put me in more challenging groups, which I've enjoyed. 100km is a comfortable distance for me to cycle whether alone or with others, and I cope increasingly well with climbs like Levening Bank, even with flat pedals.

Having gotten a set of road shoes and pedals for Christmas, and with early season events like Croft's Winter Races now approaching, I'm looking to increase speed and learn to work in tighter groups. I'd love to join in the training ride this Tuesday, but I'm nervous I'll be dropped by a seasoned bunch of Cat 2 racers within 5 minutes! I can ride 10miles in 30minutes alone, but I have no idea how that relates to bunch riding, or if I'll do anything useful on the front if people expect 20+mph riding.

Anyhow, I'm happy to turn up on the risk I have a lonely ride home, but the thoughts of regular riders are welcome.

Graham

P.S. If anyone knows the Croft circuit and wants to impart advice or is planning to race the Cat 4 events in Feb, please get in touch.

by Cyan Skymoos Sat Dec 31, 2011 3:27 pm
I wasn't aware of any tuesday gang in winter, is this a Cycleworks group?

by PhilBixby Sat Dec 31, 2011 3:49 pm
Howdo Graham, and welcome

Like Darren I'm not sure who/where/what the Tuesday rides are - the regular evening chaingang that a fair few Cliftonites take part in doesn't start until after the clocks change. That leaves the Saturday training rides, which you'd be welcome to join. You'll find out a fair bit about them by trawling back through the threads on here - there's plenty of comment, positive and negative!